Team Folders

If you’re an Enterprise user, collaboration is now easier than ever with Team Folders! Read on to learn about all the benefits and features of Team Folders.

Team Folders make collaboration easier than ever by allowing Enterprise teams to store documents in one place that can be made accessible to all team members.

You no longer need to worry about losing documents if a team member leaves your team because all documents are stored in the Team Folder rather than in individual accounts. Furthermore, you can use Team Folders to easily transfer file ownership from one team member to another.

Team Folders can be made accessible to all team members, or you can share a Team Folder to an individual user or a group of team members. These adjustable access settings make it easy to organize work for different projects or teams.

Team Folders are similar to Shared Folders because they both enable collaboration.

However, Team Folders are different from Shared Folders because Team Folders are managed by the Team, but are not “owned” by a single team member. Unlike Shared Folders, which are individually owned folders that have been shared with collaborators, Team Folders belong to the parent Enterprise account. This means you don’t need to worry about losing access to your team’s work if a team member leaves the company or project; it’s all stored and owned by the Team Folder.

Team Folders are not owned by any individual team member. Instead, team members can choose who can access and edit Team Folders and the corresponding documents. Any team member with editing and sharing permissions for a Team Folder can add or remove other collaborators and manage (add, delete, edit, or share) documents and folders within the Team Folder. Therefore, even if you are the creator of a document in the Team Folder, it is possible that you will lose access to that document if you are removed from the Team Folder. Additionally, only admins can drag folders into Team Folders. If you need to move a folder into a Team Folder, share the folder with your admin. 

Please note: you can grant greater access permissions to a user for an individual document than the user has for the Team Folder, but you cannot restrict access to individual documents if the user has greater permissions to the Team Folder. In other words, if you have edit access to a Team Folder, you cannot have view-only access to documents in that Team Folder; you will be able to edit all documents within the Team Folder. However, if you have view-only access to the Team Folder, then you are able to gain edit access to a document within that Team Folder.

If you drag a document outside of a Team Folder and into your personal documents, then you become the new document owner. You need edit and share permissions on the document and at least edit permissions on the Team Folder to move a document out of the Team Folder.

To access Team Folders, navigate to your Documents Page and select “Team Folders” on the left side folder manager.

TeamFoldersFolderManager.png

Here, you will find all the Team Folders to which you have access.

To create a new Team Folder, select “Team Folders” from the folder manager found on the left side of your Documents Page.

Then, click the NewTeamFolder.png icon to create a new Team Folder.

To add a document to your Team Folder, drag the document into the Team Folder or use one of the CreateTeamFolder.png icons to create or import a new document.

Please note: Non-admin users cannot drag an existing folder into a Team Folder. However, you can create a new folder within the Team Folder by clicking the NEwFolder.png icon. Additionally, you can share an existing folder with your team's admin and then they can move the folder into a Team Folder. If you are not an admin, you can only move documents you own into a Team Folder. 

If you are unable to create Team Folders, your team's admin most likely restricted access to Team Folder creation. Please reach out to your admin to change this setting.

To invite other team members to collaborate in your Team Folder, simply right click on the Team Folder or any document within the Team Folder and select “Share.” It is not currently possible to share folders within Team Folders.

If you move a document from a shared folder into a Team Folder, collaborators on the shared folder will lose access and collaborators on the Team Folder will gain access. However, if you have shared the document directly with a collaborator, then your collaborator will maintain access to that document even if the document is dragged into a Team Folder.

Please note: you need editing and sharing permission for the Team Folder to add or remove collaborators.  

To delete a Team Folder, right-click on the Team Folder and select “delete”

DeleteTeamFolder.png

Please note: in order to delete a Team Folder you must have editing and sharing permissions for that Team Folder. If you are still unable to delete a Team Folder, your team's admin most likely restricted access to Team Folder deletion. Please reach out to your admin to change this setting.

If you do not want to completely delete the Team Folder, but want to remove yourself as a collaborator on the Team Folder, then you must add another collaborator and grant them editing and sharing access before you remove your own permissions.

How to enable Team Folders:
Team Folders are automatically enabled for all Enterprise accounts. You can find information on how to access Team Folders here. If you would like to upgrade to an Enterprise account, please contact our sales team!

How to disable Team Folders:
Team Folders are a default feature for all Enterprise accounts, so there is no way to disable Team Folders. However, admins can restrict Team Folder creation and deletion for more centralized control over Team Folders.

How to restrict Team Folder creation and deletion:

  1. Navigate to your Admin Panel by clicking “TEAM” at the top of your Lucidchart Documents Page.

    TEAMtile.png
  2. Select the “Collaboration” tile.

    Collaboration.png
  3. Click the “Team Folder Setup” tab on the left.

    TeamFolderSetup.png
  4. Under “Creation Settings” you can choose if you want to allow all users to create and delete Team Folders or if you want to restrict Team Folder creation and deletion to admins only.

    TeamFolderRestrictions.png

    If you choose to restrict access to admins, you can add a 200 character custom dialog that will pop-up if a non-admin user tries to create or delete a Team Folder.

    CustomDialog.png

    For example, if you type “Enter instructions here” into the text box, then the custom dialog would appear to users like this:

    CustomDialogEX.png
  5. Click "Save Changes."

    SaveChanges.png

Best practices for Team Folder management:
We recommend using custom tags, statuses, and attributes to facilitate easy organization across your Team Folders. You can find more information on how to use attributes and team tags here and guidance on how to use statuses here.



Related Articles
Collaborate and Share
Custom Tags and Team Attributes
Manage Document Status
Security Features for Enterprise Admins