With its page views and tiling options, Lucidchart provides a flexible workspace that accommodates a variety of creation styles and needs. Layers provide an additional way for users to build out and organize the contents of their documents.
Read on to learn how to use layers to optimize your Lucidchart creations.
You can create and manage layers in the layers panel to the right of your canvas, which you can access by clicking in the right bar. The layers of your document will appear as stacked tiles. Even if you have not created any layers in your document, you will see a tile representing your page layer.
Note: Layers do not carry over from one page view to another. When you switch between page views of your document, the contents of your layers panel will change.
Enter and Edit Layers
Enter a layer’s editing mode by selecting the corresponding tile or double clicking on an object in the layer. The tile will turn blue and a blue rectangle will appear around the layer’s contents. You can only edit the contents of one layer at a time, so when you enter a layer, the contents of all other layers will be greyed out.
To exit editing mode of a layer and return to the page layer, click on the page layer tile or double click anywhere on the canvas outside of the layer you are editing.
When you are in the page layer, the contents of other layers will act like grouped shapes that you can edit holistically. When you click once on an object in another layer, a blue rectangle will appear around all of that layer’s contents and the edge of the layer’s tile will turn blue. You can then move, resize, or apply stylistic changes to the group.
Move/Copy Objects to Layer
To move or copy objects from one layer to another, right click on the object(s), navigate to “move to layer” or “copy to layer,” and select the layer to which you would like to add the objects to.
To create a layer, click at the top of the layers panel. Provide a name for the layer by typing over the default New Layer text.
Rename, Duplicate, and Delete Layers
Hover over a layer’s tile and click to pull up options to rename, duplicate, or delete the layer.
Deleting a layer will delete all of that layer’s contents from your document, and duplicating a layer will copy all of its contents into the new layer.
The order of the stacked tiles in the layers panel corresponds to how content is stacked on the canvas. The contents of the page layer will always be at the base of your document, but you can easily rearrange the order of the other layers’ content by dragging and dropping their corresponding tiles to new positions in the stack.
Lock and Hide Layers
The buttons to the left of a layer’s name allow you to control the visibility and editability of the layer.
By default, every new layer you create will be unlocked and visible, and these icons will be grey. When you click to hide a layer or to lock a layer, the corresponding icon will turn blue.
Note: You cannot edit a locked layer. If you are in editing mode of a layer and click , you will automatically be pushed into the page layer, which is not lockable.
Notice the words “sync visibility” at the top right of your layers panel.
If you alter the visibility of a layer, these words will turn blue, indicating that the visibility settings of your layers have not been pushed to published or future printed/downloaded versions of your document. Click to apply your visibility settings to all document versions. The button will turn grey when the settings are synced.
Selecting this option will break up your document into different pages that each correspond with a different layer. The first page of the PDF will contain any content that is on the page layer of the document. This page level content will also be visible on every subsequent layer page.
Note: Your visibility settings will not affect a layered PDF. If you do not opt to include layers, Lucidchart will generate a PDF that is based on the last synced visibility settings.
- Add a hotspot to an object by dragging it from the shape library or by selecting “add hotspot” from the right-click menu.
- Click to the top right of the hotspot to open the actions popup.
- Click and select one of the following:
- Toggle Layers (hide/show layer content like a light switch)
- Show Layers (make layer content visible)
- Hide Layers (make layer content invisibile)
- Select the layer(s) to which you would like to link your object.
- Click . Your layer is now linked!