Enterprise Licensing

This article contains all you need to know about Enterprise licensing in Lucidchart. If you are the admin of a Team account and would like to upgrade to Enterprise, please contact our sales team.

To enable organizations to use Lucidchart as a hub for storing and sharing information, Lucidchart offers two types of licenses for Enterprise accounts: can-edit and view-only.

Users with can-edit licenses are factored into your team license count and have full document creation and editing capabilities. View-only users are not factored into your license count. They can access documents made by other users on their account, but cannot create or edit them.

View-only users can do the following:
  • Request a can-edit license
  • Own documents that have been transferred to them by a team admin or that they owned prior to joining the Enterprise account
  • Access their documents page and manage documents* (delete/restore and move into/out of folders)
  • Download documents
  • View, comment on, and share documents* via email and access links
*relevant document permissions required
View-only users cannot do the following:
  • Create documents and folders (includes import and duplication)
  • Edit documents (includes renaming)
  • Publish documents via URL or embed code
  1. Click the Team hyperlink from the header of your Lucidchart account.
  2. Click on the Licensing tile.
  3. Select Do not automatically grant license under When a new user joins a team.
  4. Select Administrator manually grants license (pending request) under When a user requests a license.
  5. Click the blue Save changes button in the bottom right of the page.
After you have adjusted your Licensing settings to accomodate view-only users, you can add view-only users to your team. When you enter their information, make sure the box next to Grant available licenses to listed users is not selected before click Add to Team.

These users can request full-edit licenses by clicking the View only button on a document and selecting Request Edit Access. Depending on your team’s licensing settings, they will either automatically receive a license or their request will become a pending request in the admin panel awaiting the permission of a team admin.
If you are the Account Owner or a Team Admin of your Enterprise account, you can manage the licenses of users on your account in the Users tile of the admin panel.

  1. Click the Team hyperlink from the header of your Lucidchart account.
  2. Click on the Users tile.
  3. Click on the user’s row in your user list.
  4. In the panel on the right, click Edit next to Licenses
  5. Check the box next to Lucidchart, then click Confirm
  1. Click the Team hyperlink from the header of your Lucidchart account.
  2. Click on the Users tile.
  3. Click on the user’s row in your user list
  4. In the panel on the right, click Edit next to Licenses
  5. Un-check the box next to Lucidchart, then click Confirm
  6. Next to New Document Owner, enter the email address of another user on your account. The de-licensed user’s documents will be transferred to this user.
  7. Click Delicense
You can adjust your team’s licensing settings in the Licensing tile of the admin panel. Simply check the box next to the setting you want to adjust, and click “Save Changes.” The combination of these settings and your identity management settings will determine how your account grows. Read on to learn about the different settings you can adjust.

Note: To grow your account in a seamless way, we recommend that you change all settings to auto. If you would like to supervise the growth of your account, it is better to disable auto settings.

This setting determines what happens when a new user joins your team, whether added manually or via domain lockdown.
  • If you select “automatically grant license,” all users will come in as fully licensed users.
  • If you select “do not automatically grant license,” all users will come in as view-only users.
  • **Note: If you are setting up auto-licensing with SCIM, it is important to have auto-grant disabled, otherwise all users will be given full edit licenses when created, rather than the license type specified in their SCIM object.
This setting determines what happens when a user on your team requests a license.
  • They will either be automatically granted a license or become a “pending request” in your user list.
  • **Note: If you are using SCIM and would like users to come in as view-only users and then request licenses, you will want to have the setting “admin approve the request” enabled. Otherwise, the next time you make a change to your SCIM instance, license allocation will revert to reflect what your SCIM connection is sending over and strip any automatically assigned licenses.
This setting determines whether non-admins can invite new users to your team. A benefit of allowing non-admins to add new users is that anyone on your team will be able to share documents with anyone - even people who are not currently using Lucidchart.
This setting determines how your team will grow.
  • With auto-grow enabled, your team’s license count will automatically grow by 10 if someone requests a license when all existing licenses are used up.
  • Without auto-grow enabled, you will need to reach out to Lucidchart to grow your account.
  • If you are using a SCIM connection to auto-assign licenses to users and have auto-grow enabled, you will automatically add licenses. If you have it disabled, users that are licensed in SCIM will go into a silent queue within Lucidchart and will automatically be assigned licenses when they free up.
  • If you are configuring SCIM, you will need to enable auto-ugrade in order to generate a bearer token. You will then want to turn off auto-upgrade to prevent unwanted licensing during the configuration process.
This is what a user will fill out when they request a license to your team.
  • You can create a custom message as well as a button label and URL.
  • Setting up a custom license request dialog is particularly valuable if you are managing your licenses outside of Lucidchart and want to redirect user requests to a particular system (eg. servicenow, a mailto link, or any other internal system that you use).
If your licensing settings are set so that users must request licenses, you can set your notification preferences to receive these emails immediately or in a weekly digest.
View-only users can view, comment on, share, and download documents but cannot create or edit documents. See the View-Only User Capabilities section of this article for more detailed information.
When you de-license a user, they will remain on your account as a view-only user. When you delete a user, they will be removed from your Lucidchart account altogether. Either way, the user’s documents will be lost unless you transfer them to another user on the account.
Yes! You can have un-licensed admins on your Lucidchart account.


Related Articles
Auto Upgrade Account Feature
Transfer Files
Team Management
Limit Login to IP Address Ranges