Home/Knowledge Base/Teams and Sharing Options

Permission levels for team members

Mitch D
posted this on December 31, 2013, 2:26 PM

There are different user roles, or permission levels, associated with a Team or Enterprise Account. Below, please find details on how to change user roles and on the differences between those roles.

To change the roles associated with team members, first go to to your Team Page and then click on "Users". Note: You must be the admin or a team-admin to access this page.


.

Viewing Roles

Once you're on the "Users" page, you can see the roles associated with each member of your team on the right-hand side of the list. 

role.PNG

.

Editing Roles

To edit a role from the "Users" page,

  1. Select the user(s) you would like to edit by checkmarking the box on the far left of the table.
  2. Click "Actions" on the top bar. You will see a drop-down menu with several options. Simply click "Edit Roles".
    Actions.PNG
  3. Next, you will see a pop-up window where you can select between the different roles that person can have. Select the appropriate option and click "Save". 
    rolechoice.PNG
  4. You may also have an unlicensed user, who has view-only permissions, and want to give them a license to give them the full editing permissions associated with a licensed user. To do this, click "Actions" again and then "Edit Licenses". Here, you can choose whether or not that user has a license.
    editlicenses.PNG

.

Differences between roles

Please view the table below to understand the capabilities associated with each role and permission.

Table_of_permissions_and_roles.JPG

Last Updated: May 29, 2015

 

Comments

User photo
John A
Kcura

There's nothing here?

January 13, 2014, 1:04 PM
User photo
Mitch D

Sorry about that John! Please see the attached image, does that help? 

January 13, 2014, 4:32 PM
User photo
Timothy M

Hey Mitch,

I'm having trouble finding detailed information regarding visibility that the Admin and Team Admin have into the files other users create.  So, I'll just ask:  can the Team Admin view all files created by the team, regardless of the sharing level an individual member places on the file?

Thanks.

January 29, 2014, 6:05 AM
User photo
Mitch D

Great question Tim. The Admin and Team Admin do not have automatic access to all files created by team members. Sharing files works the same for all users on the Team, they need to be invited to a folder or document before they have access to it.  Does that answer your question?

January 29, 2014, 7:27 AM
User photo
John A
Kcura

+1 to add ability for Team Admin to see all folders and files for the team. 

+1 for Admin to see all teams' folders and files.

(Apologies for intruding Timothy's question :)

Thanks for listening,
John

January 29, 2014, 7:41 AM
User photo
Timothy M

Mitch - yes, it does.  From other support pages, am I correct in understanding that the Team Admin or Admin can reclaim files and folders when the user is deleted or removed from the team? 

Regarding John's point - in a university environment such as ours, there are significant privacy concerns around those abilities.  As long as the files can be recovered to a manager when a staff person leaves, we tend to approach such matters as mandating business work being put in the appropriately shared folders.

I can see where having those abilities at the Admin level available (if that's your work environment) would be helpful... but there should be a way to opt in or out.

January 29, 2014, 7:51 AM
User photo
Mitch D

Not a problem John, always good to hear from you. Do mind creating a new post in our Feature Request forum? That way users can easily find your request and vote on the topic. Feel free to edit your post here with a link to the formal request.

Timothy, there is an option to delete a user and claim ownership over any of their files. See the tutorial below.

http://support.lucidchart.com/entries/21653619-Deleting-user-accoun...

Thanks!

January 29, 2014, 7:57 AM
User photo
Timothy M

Fantastic.  Thanks Mitch!

January 29, 2014, 8:02 AM
User photo
John A
Kcura

@Mitch - You bet -- enter this into the Features Form now. 

@Timothy - Spot on: This (future enhancement) should be configurable (on/off) -- I'll include that in the features form. 

~John

January 29, 2014, 8:30 AM
User photo
John A
Kcura

@Mitch and @Timothy - Submitted 2 tickets, one for each aspect (Team Admin and Admin): 

  1. http://support.lucidchart.com/entries/25997944-Provide-means-for-pr...
  2. http://support.lucidchart.com/entries/25997984-Provide-means-for-Te...

best, 
John

January 29, 2014, 8:39 AM
User photo
Mitch D

Great! Thanks so much guys

January 29, 2014, 9:06 AM
User photo
Srinivas T

How can transfer Admin role to another team member

April 18, 2014, 4:48 AM
User photo
Monika G
Lucidchart

Hi Srinivas - To transfer the main account admin role to another user on your account, you must contact us at support[at]lucidchart.com. We can help you with that! If you're just looking to add another user to manage team members, then you can simply 'promote to team admin' from the Team page of your account. 

April 18, 2014, 8:39 AM
User photo
Chris B

Is there a way to share a file with someone in just the Demo mode, without editing capabilities? If not, that would be really helpful. I'd like to be able to send a link and have the person open up the file directly into Demo mode so they can experience the prototype without getting bogged down in edit mode.

Thanks!

March 11, 2015, 12:11 PM
User photo
McKayl B
Lucidchart

Hi Chris,

Thanks for your question, and my apologies for the delay in our response. At present, we don't have infrastructure in place to allow users to view unpublished documents without logging in, but I can see how this might be convenient for you. Would you mind sharing your idea on our "Current Feature Request" forum? Our PMs look through the feature requests frequently, so your idea will get better exposure to users and decision makers there. :)

Right now, Demo mode is reserved for individuals who have not signed up for an account, or are on a team as an unlicensed viewer, and don't have creation or editing permissions.

You can share a file with someone who only has access to Demo mode, and we'll prompt them to register for an account, or simply log into their unlicensed account to view the document. If you want your recipient to be able to skip the log-in process, you'll need to publish your document via Share > Publish > publish to web page. If you are on a Team, you can also password-protect the page.

Thanks for your question, and have a great day!

March 27, 2015, 10:34 AM